Sew Gratifying

zipper bags

zipper bags 2

zipper bags 3

zipper bags 5

Last year I started teaching myself to sew and have enjoyed the frustration and satisfaction that comes along with learning a new skill. Last fall I started on my first clothing from a pattern project – a wrap skirt for myself. But I have had neither the time nor the mental energy to work on completing this challenging (for me) project. So  being in the mood for some sewing gratification, I decided to learn to make the simple zipper pouch.

There are dozens of online tutorials for making zipper pouches; two of my favorites can be found at sosewsomething and designmom.com.

The first one I made for myself (in yellow), the second one for Sita. Sita’s turned out much neater. Hmm, I keep thinking of who else I know that could use a simple zippered pouch, or what else I might need more pouches for…

Like the near-instant gratification of knitting a hat, these zipper pouches really are simple and fun!

What are you crafting?

Michelle

About Seeking Joyful Simplicity

This is the story of our family and our changing lifestyle. We are on a journey, and I would like to share this journey with you as we leave our suburban life and strive to live more self-sufficiently. We are Alina (4), Sita (9) and Sean (13). My name is Michelle and dear husband is Carl. We have been homeschooling since 2009 and we live in Virginia. We recently left our secure but unhappy jobs in the DC metro area, sold our house, gave away many of our belongings, and moved to the country in southern Virginia. What are we looking for? A simple life doing the things we love with the people we love. And not settling for anything less. This is where I share our journey as we take steps every day to become more self-sufficient. There is a lot for us to learn and do, and I will be sharing my failures as well as successes along the way as we look for creative ways to live a life balancing work, family, and joyful simple living. Michelle
This entry was posted in Crafts, Simple Sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sew Gratifying

  1. globetrottermama says:

    Oh my goodness! I am in love. I have always wanted to learn how to sew. It reminds me so much of my great grandmother and the house that I used to spend my summers in. It is definitely on my bucket list. Love the pictures. Beautiful.

  2. Laura says:

    Those are very cute! Nicely done!

  3. Laura says:

    PS-I’m thinking useful for just about anything… Makeup bag, toiletries when traveling, holding markers or crayons (with a black interior so you can’t see the marks), holding dolls clothes, diaper and wipes carrier for quick trips out instead of lugging a whole diaper bag…. On & on & on….. Lol :)

Leave a Reply

